Our Constitution established three separate branches of government: legislative, executive, and judicial. The separation of powers between the branches is crucial: Allowing powers to accumulate in any government body is, as James Madison said, “the very definition of tyranny.”

And yet, since the New Deal in the 1930s, the American administrative state has grown into a Leviathan. Today, a sea of regulatory agencies has seized more power—becoming lawmaker, executive, and judge—in order to exert greater control over our lives.

PLF fights to rein in this unconstitutional “fourth branch” and to restore the proper structure of our government.

Read The Separation of Powers Explained to understand why the structure of government is critical to individual liberty.

Our Separation of Powers Goals

Victories to Celebrate

Separation of Powers Stories